Guest User

Share With Us:

Examination / Civil Services Examination


The Civil Services Examination comprises of two successive stages:

  1. Preliminary Examination: It consists of objective type questions for the selection of candidates for Mains Examination.
  2. Main Examination: It consists of Written examination and Interview for the selection of the candidates for the various services and posts.

Preliminary Examination

  • The examination shall comprise two compulsory papers of 200 marks each.
  • Both the question papers will be objective type i.e. multiple-choice questions.
  • The preliminary papers are set in both Hindi and English language.
  • This examination is meant to serve as a screening test only. The marks obtained in the Preliminary Examination by the candidates who are declared qualified for the Main Examination will not be counted for determining their final order of merit.
  • There is also negative marking for every wrong answer.
  • The number of candidates to be admitted to the Main Examination will be about twelve to thirteen times the total approximate number of vacancies to be filled in the year in the various services and posts. Only those candidates who are declared by the Commission to have qualified in the Preliminary Examination in the year are eligible for writing the Main Examination of that year.
  • A candidate is required to appear for both Paper 1 and Paper 2 to get his papers evaluated. Therefore, a candidate will be disqualified in case he/she does not appear in either of them.

Main Examination

  • The candidates who have cleared the Preliminary Examination can appear for the main examination. This exam consists of total nine papers.
  • This examination tests the thorough knowledge of a candidate about its surroundings. Nowadays, the questions are generally based on the current events. However, the questions are not straightforward and require comprehensive and coherent approach while answering the questions.